Top Stories

Eagles Sports
Upcoming Events
Vic's Flick Picks
Pastor's Column
Advertise with Us
Press Release
Contact Us
Staff Login

Top Stories

Police Report
Letters to the Editor
Frankenmuth Farmer's Market
Morning Rotary
Lions Club
Girl Scouts

County Sports Hall taking female camp scholarship applications

  The Saginaw County Sports Hall of Fame Committee is currently taking applications to select three female student athletes who will receive a $200 scholarship to a 2017 summer sports camp of their choice, located in Michigan.
  The female camp scholarship qualifications include being a Saginaw County freshman, sophomore or junior playing a freshmen, junior varsity or varsity sport; the applicants parent(s), grandparent(s) or guardian(s) coach or athletic  director must be a lifetime voting member of the SCSHOF; scholarships must be used in the state of Michigan; applicant’s coach or athletic  director must submit a one-page letter of recommendation included with the application and; the applicant must provide a written essay.
  “It is important to use to spearhead this scholarship because we believe you female athletes deserve the opportunity to develop athletically at a sports camp of her choice,” Alexandria Jones, chairperson for the Female Summer Camp Scholarship, said. “We are very grateful to be in our second year of providing funds to female athletes in our area.”
  The scholarship provides a unique athletic opportunity for females who demonstrate the program’s core values of participation, leadership, performance and community service.
  Applicants can submit the application online or download the packet and mail it to: SCSHOF, Attn. Female Camp Scholarship, 500 Federal Avenue, Saginaw, MI. 48607-1253. Sunday, April 30, is the application deadline.
  Download the application at, and follow the link to female-athlete-camp-scholarship-application.html.
  This scholarship is on behalf of a private donation by the Colby-McKeith-Thayer Foundation, which was established in memory of Linda Colby, Lisa McKeith and Ellen Thayer. 
 To contribute to this scholarship, visit



(c) 2006 Frankenmuth News